4th July 2016

Canberra Glassworks - Hindmarsh Prize

On Friday 17th June, John Hindmarsh announced Masahiro Asaka as winner of the Hindmarsh Prize. Masahiro Asaka’s work Surge 19, 2015 was selected by the judging panel from 18 shortlisted finalists. He has been presented with a $5000 cash prize and he will have the opportunity to do a four week residency at Canberra Glassworks.

The shortlisted works will be exhibited in the Canberra Glassworks galleries from 28 July – 4 September 2016. All of the works are for sale. 

The Judging Panel for the Hindmarsh Prize included Dr Gerard Vaughan AM, Director, National Gallery of Australia; Julie Ewington, Independent writer and curator, Sydney; Eva Czernis-Ryl, Curator Museum of Applied Arts and Sciences; Magda Keaney, former Canberra Glassworks Artistic Director and now Senior Curator, Photographs, Film and Sound, Australian War Memorial; and Ewan McEoin, The Hugh Williamson Senior Curator of Contemporary Design and Architecture, National Gallery of Victoria. 

More information on the Canberra Glassworks can be found here.